Audio Interface – Which Ones To Choose

The audio interface – initially I thought I may never need it cause of budget constrains and I was wrong – big time.

I purchase a USB to audio interface and I was made to pay for my rookie mistake. Going cheap doesn’t always turn out good – what I learn so far … though I kept on repeating the same mistakes over and over again.

usb-audio The thought of getting the audio from a guitar to the PC on a cheap backfired and due to a big reason mentioned below.

The Guitar Link, as what it mentioned if the picture on the left, has no preamp built in. That”s important for you to control the gain which can be very high from the guitar. I ended having audio peaking above the 3db mark and that’s not good for recording .

After trying multiple times not getting the sound I want and it always distorts as the wave signal clips, I decided to save up and get me a proper audio interface.

The time of research came and now if you were to go to Amazon, you’ll be spoil for choice. There’s Presonus Audiobox, Mackie Onyx BlackJack, Focusrite Scarlett, and many more. It took me a while and lots of research on the web before I decided to go for the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2.

It was cheap and versatile.

Important thing to note is the support drivers if you’re running on a Windows machine. Like the Mackie Onyx Blackjack , drivers for Windows 8 till 10 are still non supported eventhough some tried and maybe successful. So do check the official website on the comparability section before making the purchase.

Always , check reviews, they are tons of them out there and do proper research. If it meets your budget just go for it.

Till next post …..

Leave a Reply

